We Are His People (Light LS-5701-LP) 1976



This album probably would have been standard orchestrated pop/MOR and ballads fare had it not been brightened by the presence of keyboardist, singer and songwriter Doug Howell. Can’t say it really impressed on the first spin, especially with all the strings and horns, but after a few listens I found myself softening up to several selections. Doug wrote or co-wrote a number of the songs, including ‘Nobody’s Gonna Take Away My Song’, ‘The Jesus Touch’, the title track (with friendly fuzz), ‘You Made The Difference’, ‘Jesus Never Fails’ and ‘I Just Wanna Talk About Jesus’, all of which reflect his knack for writing catchy pop melodies. The closing ‘Jesus Band’ also has some nice sunshine pop appeal. (The Archivist, 4th Edition by Ken Scott).

I have not acquired this album yet. Thank you Discogs for the rear cover photo, label S1 and track list.  Thank you Ken for the front cover photo.


Song #Song TitleTime
1-1Sailor's Psalm 4:56
1-2Travelin' Day 2:21
1-3Nobody's Gonna Take Away My Song 2:31
1-4The Jesus Touch 3:18
1-5We Are His People 3:21
2-1You Made The Difference2:40
2-2Jesus Never Fails 2:09
2-3Sunday Song 1:56
2-4Tell The World About My Lord 3:42
2-5Jesus Band 2:35