The New Has Come (Light LS-5703) 1976



Sleek jazzy pop-rock trio whose music is equal parts George Benson, Seawind, Sweet Comfort Band and Steve Lawrence, including some smooth cocktail crooning of thehighest order (‘Take My Yoke Upon You’ absolutely takes the cake, begging for karaoke action). Strong jazz angle throughout, primarily from Si Simonson’s snazzy keyboards, which include piano, Fender Rhodes, Hammond organ, synthesizer and Arp string ensemble. Rick Riso leads the vocals with his rich flawless croon, while Jim DeLong’s drums provide the beat. Touches of disco (‘Set Your Mind’) and funk (‘Fill Me With Your Spirit’), along with some ultra-mellow ballads A few electric guitar leads here and there, along with soulful male/female background vocals. Can be excessively lustrous, almost to the point of being comical, yet frequently irresistible at the same time. (The Archivist, 4th Edition by Ken Scott).

I have not acquired this album yet.


Song #Song TitleTime
1-1The New Has Come4:01
1-2I Feel Secure4:05
1-3Jesus Died For Me3:49
1-4I Love My Jesus 3:39
1-5My Savior's Love4:20
2-1Set Your Mind 4:03
2-2Take My Yoke Upon You 3:24
2-3Fill Me With Your Spirit3:53
2-4Wings Of Salvation3:54
2-5Live In Jesus' Light4:03