Reflections (Fiat TGWL 1002) 1977



Louvat, Lorraine - Reflections



The other essential Lorraine album featuring that same pure-and-natural acoustic female folksinger sound as Friendship Is Forever. Contains nine of her songs, most in the 4-to-5-minute range, three of which would be re-recorded for Life Is A Fountain (‘The Fiber Of Life’, ‘I Care’, ‘Life Is A Fountain’), although the less-processed versions heard here are much better. Musically ranges from gentle uplifting melodies (‘Man Of No Concern’) to brisk acoustic blues (‘Old—Time Blues’) to stirring solemn ballads (‘Gentle Solitude’), nearing folk/psych territory on the tempo-shifting ‘Driftwood’. Lorraine appears to have provided all the vocals this time, including some attractive distant ethereal background singing. She backs herself on “folk guitar” while David Burgess embellishes the mood with acoustic “improvisational guitar”. Also flute on a couple songs. (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).





I have not acquired this album yet.  Thank you Brian for the track list. Thank you Donald for the rear cover photo.




Side 1
1 The Fiber of Life  4:55
2 Gentle Solitude  4:55
3 Man of No Concern  5:20
4 Old-Time Blues 4:55

Side 2

1 I Care    3:20
2 How Do I Begin  4:45
3 Life Is a Fountain  4:05
4 Driftwood  3:20
5 Softly Sings the Sparrow 4:15