Evergreen (Myrrh MSA-6553) 1975





Back in college I volunteered for a short time at a small Christian book-store. They had a stack of a dozen or so demo records for in-store play, one of them being this album by Honeytree. Since Evergreen has the honor of being one of the very first ccm albums I was exposed to, it naturally has a special place in my heart. But my own biases aside, I’m sure many would have to agree that Evergreen is one of Jesus music’s most classic albums. Honeytree’s song-writing, diversity, and knack for writing a catchy tune are all at their peak here. Having explored folk and acoustic MOR on her first two albums, Miss Tree now successfully captures that middle-ground rock sound that along with the works of 2nd Chapter Of Acts, Love Song, Phil Keaggy, et all came to be a style of its own simply known as “Jesus music”. Phil Keaggy’s electric guitar presence is a boon, giving warmth and atmosphere to gentle cuts like ‘Ruth’, while growling away on the rocky ones (‘Mary And Martha’ in particular). Many classics here: ‘It’s Only Right’, the jazz-rocking ‘Searchlight’, ‘Say You Told Me So’, the novelty ‘Rattle Me Shake Me’, as well as the Keaggy-penned ‘(Lovely Jesus) Here I Am’ and Larry Norman’s ‘I Am A Servant’. Light stirring string orchestration in parts, plus some attractive flute work. Love that denim hat! (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).







A1 Evergreen            
A2 It's Only Right              
A3 (Lovely Jesus) Here I Am
A4 Mary And Martha              
A5 Ruth                 
A6 I Am Your Servant

B1 Rattle Me, Shake Me          
B2 Searchlight          
B3 Say You Told Me So           
B4 Sometimes I Need You                 
B5 Lullaby In Jesus' Name