The Passion (Kingsway KMR 308) 1982 UK *



Snell, Adrian - The Passion




The Passion is a symphonic rock opera that features backing from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Five of the songs can be found on side two of Fireflake, but this is an entirely new recording with twelve titles spanning the period that begins with the Last Supper and builds to the Resurrection. Six vocalists, including Snell in the role of Jesus and Mark Williamson as Judas. The English Chamber Singers and the London Welsh Male Voice Choir also appear on certain songs. Musicians include Snell on keyboards, Kevin Peek and Gordon Giltrap on acoustic guitars, plus others on drums, bass and electric guitar. Ranges from mellow ballads and soft orchestral passages to dynamic progressive themes and electrifying hard-rock sections (there’s actually quite a bit of heavy electric guitar on here). A very powerful work that effectively depicts the culmination of Christ’s last days on earth. (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).



Adrian Snell - Passion (Bck)




Thank you Donald for the rear cover photo.


A1 Long Live The King 2:36
A2 The Last Supper 2:02
A3 Gethsemane 3:56
A4 Betrayal 4:28
A5 Son Of The World 3:38
A6 The Trial 4:12
A7 Judas’ Song 3:25
B1 Simon Carry My Cross 4:10
B2 Golgotha 3:18
B3 Song For John 5:29
B4 Jesus Alive! 8:23
B5 Peace Be With You 1:12