This Driftin’s Gotta Stop (Third Man  CPCPJDB001/2 )  1975  UK *



Intriguing British custom featuring eleven songs in a folk, rock and blues mixture, all apparently structured around the theme of Noah and the flood. Participants and their instruments include Keith Loring (guitar, mandolin, harmonica, vocals), Nick Hillier (electric rhythm and lead guitar), Peter Keith (acoustic guitar), Monica Ann Brown (tambourine, vocals), Colin Thompson (bass, chimes), Allan Vailance (drums, percussion) and Graham Neve (piano). Loring wrote all the music – he’s also got a solo lp on the Dovetail label (see entry). Has an appealing folksy rough-around-the-edges underground private press vibe. Some of the more rocking bluesy tracks sport a ragged Larry Norman attitude, including ‘There Ain’t No Hiding’, ‘Hey, Mamma, Hey!’ and the title song (note the similarities of the latter to ‘Why Don’t You Look Into Jesus?’). Loring’s vocals let loose in Norman fashion a few times as well. ‘Listen To The Wind’ and ‘Rainbow’ both briskly roll along to blues/boogie rhythms, aided by a bit of slide guitar and kazoo respectively. Songs like ‘The People We Used To Know’ and ‘I Thought Today Would Never End’ are more acoustic oriented. Primitive black and white cover art of sun reflecting in water.     (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).

This one was on Heavenly Grooves.

01. Are You Listening Lord

02. There Ain't No Hiding

03. Hey Mamma Hey

04. Rainstorm

05. The People We Used To Know

06. Song For The Sun

07. Listen To The Wind

08. I Thought Today Would Never End

09. This Driftin's Gotta Stop

10. Lullaby

11. Rainbow