Learning How to Love (Jubal Spring  JR 7001)  1978



McLaren, Bryan - Learning How To Love



The voice reminds me of Evan Williams, the music of Phil Keaggy’s What A Day or perhaps the quieter side of Harvest Flight. Learning How To Love is an exceptional private press recording of dreamy acoustic rock that features beautiful melodies layered with silky guitar work and soft lulling vocals. Over forty-five minutes of music to drift away to, twelve original songs with titles like ‘Sailing Out On Life’, ‘Publican And Pharisee’, ‘I Wonder How You Love Me’, ‘I Believe In Him’, ‘Simple Things’, ‘Mary And Martha’ and the boogie jammin’ ‘Depersonalization Blues’. Brian plays guitar, woodwinds, congas and keyboards, while four other guys add various instruments and/or bgvs. How come no one’s ever heard of this guy?     (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).



Brian McLaren (Bck)



This one was on Heavenly Grooves.

01. Sailing Out On Life

02. Becoming

03. Depersonalization Blues

04. I Wonder How You Love Me

05. Learning How To Love

06. Every Step I Take

07. Publican And Pharisee

08. Simple Things

09. Mary And Martha

10. Immanuel

11. I Believe In Him

12. Psalm 95