Rich Martin (Sonburst  SBR 102) 1975


Rich Martin’s country-flavored acoustic rock style and fragile vocal delivery remind me of artists like Dennis Ryder, Dave Mattson, Marc Haney, or even some of the stripped-down early Larry Norman recordings like Street Level and Bootleg. Martin handles most of the instruments himself including acoustic and electric guitars, bass, mandolin, harmonica, drums and miscellaneous percussion. ‘I Give You My Life’ has some beautiful flute accompaniment while ‘Day Of The Son Of Man’ recognizes some good electric leads. Martin’s wit is revealed on titles like ‘Soap Opera Blues’ and ‘Life’s Cheatin’ Heart’, as well as lyrics in ‘Praise The Lord Tonight’ (“I don’t want no hickey on my brain from reading True Confession”) and the Mark Heard-flavored ‘Just As I Am’ (“I ain’t as good lookin’ as the Marlboro man, but Jesus he loves me, just as I am”). A real Jesus music classic here. Same tiny label as James O’Connell and the first two records. (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).




This one was on Heavenly Grooves.

01. Soap Opera Blues 

02. Life's Cheatin' Heart

03. Spiritual Songs

04. I Give You My Life

05. Day Of The Son Of Man

06. Praise The Lord Tonight

07. Just As I Am

08. Signs Of His Coming

09. If You Want To Know Jesus

10. The Good Book