Ride High The Wind (GU-2)  1974





Back in the peppy folkrock mode, their sixth lp has a lot of what make the early albums so good.  For one they’ve tossed in a couple of hardrockers (smile), proving they’ve still got what it takes.  The centerpiece would have to be their powerful remake of the lengthy ‘Ride on’, where loud electric leads and a ripping bass solo meet up against intense percussion.  Folkrock moods range from the brisk upbeat ‘The Christed Life’ to the driving electric ‘You Are Free’ to the dreamy minor-key title track.  Opportune use of phasing and wah-wah in spots.  Some of the ballads (which I’ve always considered to be their forte) seem truer to the old form as well, particulary their update on ‘God Unlimited’.  Works in covers of ‘I Don’t Know How To Love Him’ and Ken Medema’s ‘Will You Stay?  There’s Some spoken dialogue between the songs – rather lengthy at times, but you could edit it out for repeated listening.      (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).






This one was on the Heavenly Grooves Site.


01. Narration

02. Stand Tall

03. Narration

04. Ride High The Wind

05. God Unlimited - Narration

06. I Don't Know How To Love Him

07. You Are Free

08. Narration

09. The Christed Life

10. Narration

11. Trilogy- Ride On

12. Trilogy- Will You Stay

13. Trilogy- Jesus Our Morning Star

14. Narration

15. Pass It On