Born Forever  (Acts 183 EL)  1973


Acts, The - Born Forever


The biggest draw to Born Forever is probably the brilliant homemade cover painting and the bizarre cosmic illustrations on the back.  Musically they’re not that particularly grabbing: low-budget garagy guy/gal contemporary gospel covers of ‘It Won’t Be Long’, ‘My Tribute’, ‘You Should Have Come Sooner’, ‘Something About That Name’ etc., with a few gaggy horns, an old out-of-tune piano and churchy vocals.  Not a complete throwaway, however, as there are some interesting electric basement vibes with respectable effects-laden lead guitar work that strongly recalls Phil Keaggy (I notice these folks are also from Youngstown, Ohio.  Hmmmm. Could it be…?).  Standout track is their blues-rock take on ‘Amazing Grace’.    (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


Acts - Born (Bck)



Sorry I have not Acquired this album yet. Track list, credits and notes found at

Thank you Donald for the Rear cover photo.


A1 It Won’t Be Long
A2 For Once In My Life
A3 A Thing Called Love
A4 One More Day
A5 My Tribute
B1 You Should Have Come Sooner
B2 Amazing Grace

Drums, Bass, Lead Guitar – Phil Keaggy

B3 Something About That Name
B4 I Find No Fault
B5 I Have Decided To Follow Jesus


  • Bass – Rande Isabella
  • Drums – Mike Noyes
  • Engineer – John Krizancic
  • Flugelhorn [Solo] – Rande Isabella
  • Flute [Solo] – Roger Force
  • Guitar – Peter York, Phil Keaggy, Ruben Vasquez
  • Lead Vocals – Mark Sabella, Marlene Gallo, Rick Baker (3), Ruben Vasquez (tracks: B2), Tom Sabella
  • Saxophone – Roger Force
  • Trumpet – Rande Isabella
  • Vocals – George Leach


First release of Early Christian Rock Band, “The Acts” (Youngstown, OH).

Guest artist, Phil Keaggy, plays on most tracks and adds a trademark solo at the end of My Tribute, To God Be the Glory and Amazing Grace. Despite this being a 4 track recording, Keaggy is heard playing drums, bass and lead guitar on Amazing Grace, which features Ruben Vasquez on Elvis style lead vocals.
Recorded at Marjon International Records, Sharon, PA summer of 1973.
Technical Data:
Ampex 200 series 4-track tape recorder with Sel-sync (Les Paul used 8-track version of same)

Lead vocal mic: Telefunken Elam 251

Phil Keaggy’s Les Paul guitar was recorded through a Fender Princeton amplifier.