Plain Water (Gutta  GUTS 003)  1980  Sweden *

Don’t let the date fool ya! Authentic second effort from this long-running (since 1970) Swedish trio with Tomas Ernvik on voice, guitar, and piano, Danne Gansmoe on drums and vocals, Bjorn Millton on fretless bass and vocals. A must for the UK electric blues fan – the band captures the right, punchy rhythms of the late Paul Kossoff and Free, the John Mayall shouting vocal style plus throwing in Savoy Brown-type jams all along the way. While Ernvik’s lead playing is softly and wonderfully expressive one moment (‘Searched’) and scorching and ripping the next (‘Irving’), the “band” concept is very strong with Vatten. Sound wouldn’t work without all the cylinders hitting. Essential listening. (Bob Felberg – Archivist) (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. What I Am To Find

02. The Dreamer

03. Thoughts On Standard

04. Searched

05. What To Do

06. Outsider

07. Friends

08. Irving

09. And Still

10. New Kind Of Love

11. Rely Back