Pilgrim (Airborn  AR1013)  1980


The Airborn label usually means a high quality endeavor and such is the case for Pat Quinn’s Pilgrim. He’s listed as a member of the Angel Band on Ron Moore’s Live Studio Concert. Ron can be found in here lending a hand to Pat’s blend of acoustic and country rock. Sparkling clean sound with layers of vibrant acoustic guitar and a natural approach that brings to mind Mark Heard’s Appalachian Melody. A few harder-edged rockers in the tradition of early Talbots. Lyrical violin brings a solemn beauty to ‘Calm Before The Storm’. On a couple occasions there’s some nice electric piano and angelic harmonization from a female Quinn (wife?). Steel guitar, harmonica, and banjo provide the rural angle. File this with all the other acoustic rock greats.      (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Pilgrim

02. A Child Is Born

03. Sure Are Good To Me

04. I Once Was An Eagle

05. Behold Your King

06. Wedding Psalm

07. Make It Burn

08. Calm Before The Strom

09. What Have I Lost

10. Wild And Alive

11. Take Us All Back To The Garden