The New Beginning (Universal Audio  UAS 770-57242)  1972?




Wow, this earlier album is even better! The male/female harmonies in particular have such incredible depth and power, including periodic glimmers of The Mamas & The Papas. Couple that with the music and the end result is a vibrant mod edgy west-coast folkrock sound. ‘Reach Out’, ‘Someone Came Walking’ and ‘Boxcar’ all kick into gear with crisp driving rhythms and invigorating vocals and musicianship, including passionate lead guitar work (both acoustic and electric). ‘See The Man’ dreamily glides along with stratospheric harmonies and a brisk folkrock groove, while ‘Happy People’ is pumped up with acoustic guitar energy. Lighter more playful moods can be found in ‘Makes Me Strong’ and ‘Circle K Song’, the latter with quirky synth backing. ‘I Know Somebody’ and ‘Something’s Happening’ are moving ballads full of feeling. All nine songs written or co-written by member Bernie Rolfe. Handsome arrangement of sepia-toned photos of the group on the front cover. A remarkable slab of Jesus music here.    (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).

This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Circle Song

02. I Know Somebody

03. Makes Me Strong

04. Something’s Happening

05. See The Man

06. Happy People

07. Reach Out

08. Someone Came Walking

09. Boxcar