Created To Praise (New Born  NB 7018)  1980?  Canada *



Another superb collection of original songs that continue to spotlight Owens’ soothing vocals and sparkling guitar work while also successfully adding some hard-edged rock to his palette. Crystal clear production from Steve Millikan, who also adds keyboards (piano, arp, fender rhodes), while Fred Plassman contributes bass, fender strat and Les Paul. ‘You Have Been’, ‘For All These Things’ and ‘He Is Calling’ are all solid electric tracks, while the ballads ‘I Have Yet To See’ and the title track possess a stirring delicate beauty. Smooth soft-jazz groove for ‘I Will Bless The Lord’. The Keaggy resemblance is striking, yet it never sounds copycat. Inspired yes, but not ripped off. All of Jon’s albums are good, but this one I believe is his best.    (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).

This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. You Have Been

02. You Are Real To Me

03. I Will Bless The Lord

04. Psalm 90;1 & 2

05. Let Him Be

06. For All These Things

07. I Have Yet To See

08. Family Love

09. He Is Calling

10. Created To Praise

11. Now I Am Free