Loving You Gently, Lord (Pax  501)  1976  UK *


Lush atmospheric acoustic ballads together with a few electric folk-rock cuts gives the male/female foursome Flame the same stirring presence as other select British folk outfits like 11:59 and Mystery Maker. The use of organ gives much depth to their sound, sometimes bold and cathedral-like as on the opening ‘Peacemakers’,and other times bringing a psychy background texture. From the still ethereal mood of ‘Lord Make Me An Instrument of Thy Peace’, to the graceful electric country melody of ‘There Will Be Signs’, to the jangly folk of ‘Spirit Of Love’, to the more rock-oriented style of ‘On We Go To Jerusalem’, Flame excels on all fronts. Members include Kevin Mayhew on piano and organ, Malcolm Campbell-Carr on vocals, bass and tambourine, John Googe on electric and acoustic guitars, and Eileen Greaves on vocals. Eileen’s glowing voice had appeared in a number of British groups (Sacred Heart Choir, The Sowers, Harvey’s People, The Kevin Mayhew Singers), but this is clearly her shining moment, and she brings a haunting beauty to many of these songs. Nice un-credited flute accompaniment as well.  Gorgeous watercolor painting of a windmill on the front cover.  (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.  Thank you George for the album cover photos and Discogs for the label photos.



Song #Song TitleTime
1-2Danny's Song
1-3There Will Be Signs
1-4This Is The Bread
1-5Lord, Make Me An Instrument Of Thy Peace
1-6Lord, Our God
2-1On We Go To Jerusalem
2-2O Lady, Full Of God's Own Grace
2-3Loving You Gently, Lord
2-4Spirit Of Love
2-5In Spite Of It All
2-6By The Riverside