Let Me Take You to the Kingdom (Hosanna  HOS 72873)  1973


This album’s one of the better acoustic sets to come out of the States. Combining classical guitar with layered vocals and double acoustic leads, the effect is often mysterious and moody. There’s a lot of classical influence here – parts made me think I was listening to Christopher Parkening. A pair of recorders join in at a couple parts recalling the intro to ‘Stairway To Heaven’. ‘The Worship Song’ is nothing more than a pipe organ, guitar, and Ryder’s mildly twangy vocals. Light electric organ here and there – ‘Make It Right’ sounds a bit like Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’. The original cover has a beautiful intricate illustration of Dennis walking beside a stream with Christ in the background. The photo of Dennis on the back was later enlarged and placed on the front for the Windy Distribution pressing. See also Scripture Songs.      (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. The Kingdom Song

02. Found My Way

03. Reach Out

04. The Builder

05. Sound The Alarm

06. Free

07. The Worship Song

08. Abraham

09. Make It Right

10. Peace