The End of the Age (no  label  no #)  1980


All the elements of good guitar-based progressive rock can be found in this Wisconsin male foursome’s excellent hard-to-find custom. A variety of expressions gives the music a lot of depth. ‘He Is Real’, ‘Tales Of Evil’, ‘What Will Become’, the apocalyptic title track (which sounds a lot like Barclay James Harvest) and the instrumental ‘Lessons In Seven’ all check in with an artful heavy rock sound, including several driving dual electric guitar side trips (the kind DeGarmo & Key had fun doing in the early days). ‘I Say Hello’ and ‘Reprise’ begin and end the set with a lush symphonic presence – a stately melding of acoustic guitars, piano and mellotron-like string orchestration. ‘Tomorrow’ and ‘I Pray Some Day’ are gentle stirring ballads with rich acoustic guitar melodies. Quite a treasure here, housed in an intriguing Tolkienesque cover.    (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).

This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. I Say Hello

02. Now I Sing

03. He Is Real

04. Tomorrow

05. Tales Of Evil

06. End Of The Age

07. What Will Become

08. Lessons In Seven

09. I Pray Some Day

10. Reprise