Shout And Sing (Spin LP 1713) 1969 UK *


The Revellers-Shout And Sing-front

Their third go-around in what they call “the medium of gospel rhythm”.  I finally figured out who the lead singer reminds me of: it’s Elvis!  Shout And Sing is typical organ/electric-guitar Revellers, alternating slow crooners (‘There Is A Green Hill’, ‘I Believe’, ‘The Old Rugged Cross’) with mid-tempo selections, plus a couple lively cuts that border on rockabilly (‘Pearly Gates’, ‘This Little Light’).  I like their plaintive version of ‘Where Have All The Flowers Gone’.  The Elvis vibe peaks on the slow-rocking ‘It Is No Secret’.  Small Northern Ireland label.     (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).

The Revellers-Shout And Sing-back


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Shout And Sing

02. Pearly Gates

03. There Is A Green Hill

04. The Book

05. Where Have All The Flowers Gone

06. This Little Light Of Mine

07. I Believe

08. My Lord

09. Yes He Will

10. The Old Rugged Cross

11. It Is No Secret

12. Oh, How I Need Him