Come To The Harvest (No label SS0003) 1980


Mark & Stephanie Schulz’s Come To The Harvest is that one-in-a-thousand husband/wife private press record that you absolutely need to pay attention to. The twosome’s dreamy artful acoustic rock moods resonate with a depth not unlike the highly respected All My Roads by Kevin & Clare Sarkissian. Features the duo on vocals (sometimes solo, sometimes in harmony), Mark on acoustic guitar, banjo and percussion, assisted by others on bass, drums, electric guitar, flute and additional percussion and acoustic guitar. Several high-quality moody surreal acoustic songs, the opening ‘Come Unto Me’ being a prime example with its spacey flute accompaniment. Folksy rural banjo action on ‘It’s Alright With Me’. The title track reminds me of John Michael Talbot’s ‘Prepare Ye The Way’, right up until that climactic electric guitar lead kicks in. The upbeat folkrocker ‘Joy’ also has a notable electric lead, as does ‘Somethin’s Comin’ capping off its slinky bluesy acoustic mood. Eleven songs. Handsome cover illustration of a sickle and shocks of wheat. Their address is listed in care of Valley Forge Christian College, Phoenixville, Pennsylvania.     (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).



This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Come Unto Me

02. Come To The Harvest

03. For The Story You Tell

04. Dear Lord

05. Bright Side Of The Son

06. Joy

07. It’s Alright With Me

08. How Green Are The Pastures

09. Somethin’s Comin’

10. Prince Of Peace

11. Simeon’s Song