With Skins and Steel (World Library  WLSM-36-SM)  1968?


Miffleton, Jack - With Skins And Steel

One of the most wholesome spirited folk outfits to reach these ears, one whose albums have the sixties written all over them. Although the artist name is listed as Jack Miffleton (composer of the songs), this is really a group effort. They do a splendid job putting their own unique stamp on the Catholic sound: up-tempo pure folk with a big beat; melancholy acoustic ballads rich in emotion; gently swaying numbers with hypnotic percussion. Participants include singers Skipp Sanders, Nancy Barnes and Dennis Cooney, Jack on guitar, plus others on bass, drums, banjo, percussion and additional guitar. The vocalists are all good, their harmonies filled with feeling and creatively expressed, while the instrumental backing remains simple yet solid and lively. Back cover describes the songs as “foot-tapping” (‘I’m Ready To Follow’), “quiet ebb and flow” (‘The Wind Blows’), “poignant” (‘Cry Alice’) and “rhythmic” (‘Alle Alle’). An irresistible rocking drumbeat is laid down on ‘I Am The Bread’. Opens with ‘Well, It’s A New Day’, one of Jack’s best known songs. Most of these folks (including Jack) also appear on The Group’s No Time Like The Present which has a more or less identical sound.   (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).

Jack Miffleton - With (Bck 2)

This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Well, It’s A New Day

02. The Wind Blows

03. Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

04. Yours Is The Kingdom

05. Cry Alice

06. Alleluia Response

07. I’m The Good Shepherd

08. Alle, Alle

09. Lord, I’ve Come To Your Garden

10. I Am The Bread

11. Up To Jerusalem

12. There Are But Three Things

13. It Is My Faith

14. But Then Comes The Morning

15. I’m Ready To Follow