Emmett Taylor (Kerygma  KMA101)  1972



Emmett Taylor

The cover photo of a guy and his acoustic guitar on this Missouri custom suggests a simple folksinger album – but what we got here is a whole lot more than that. What Emmett Taylor together with fellow singer Stephen Eyre have given us is your basic homemade monster mix of rock, psych and edgy acoustic rock tracks. On the heavier end are songs like ‘Men Of Delusion’ and ‘Yes I Know’, both driving underground rockers armed with fuzzed electric guitar leads. ‘Road Song’ is another goodie, one that fashions a psychy hippie groove reminiscent of Country Joe & The Fish. ‘Found Real Peace’, ‘Is He Free’, ‘Spirit Of Love’ and ‘He’s Coming Back’ are all spirited folkrock tracks, their acoustic frameworks enhanced with exciting electric guitar soloing. Even quieter acoustic songs like ‘Will It Ever Be Over?’, the haunting ethereal ‘For Grace And Peace’ or the recorder-backed ‘Why’ seem to possess a trippy edge. Magical moody minor-key presence surrounding several of these songs. Pretty much top of the heap for male solo Jesus music lps.    (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Men Of Delusion

02. Will It Ever Be Over?

03. Found Real Peace

04. Is He Free

05. Why

06. For Grace & Peace

07. He’s Coming Back

08. Road Song

09. Yes I Know

10. Spirit Of Love