For Lack Of A Better Title (Praise PRS 203) 1975? Canada *


The boys totally re-invented themselves for this often impressive heavier rock effort.  The Curse Of The Guy With The Deep Voice is gone, they’ve added a lot of their own song writing, and they’ve plugged in the organ and electric guitar.  ‘On And On’ could pass for something off The Mission’s Becoming One with its pulsating bass, electric wah-wah lead and trippy acoustic strum.  ‘Cry Of Love’ is split over two sides – Part 1 features a hypnotic instrumental jazz groove with Doors-ish reverbed electric piano, while Part 2 opens with a big drum solo and finishes with a lengthy acid hard-rock climax, including a sped-up repetition of the riff from ‘Smoke On The Water’!  I couldn’t help but laugh at the fuzz solo on ‘Jesus Love Goes A Long Way’, as it’s clearly patterned after the one on the Carpenters’ ‘Goodbye To Love’.  Even a few symphonic progressive touches on side two: ‘Interlude’, ‘Concerto For Piano’, ‘Inside’ and ‘The Eyes Of God’ are almost King Crimson-like in their beauty, particularly in the use of flute, piano and mellotron-esque strings.  Still two or three lesser numbers that reveal their gospel origins, but overall I’m amazed at how well they pull this thing off.  Gatefold cover with foldout lyrics pasted on the inside like a booklet.     (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Jesus Love Goes A Long Way

02. Sweet Peace Within

03. Jesus Made Me Higher

04. On And On

05. Let’s All Tell The World

06. Cry Of Love (Part 1)

07. Cry Of Love (Part 2)

08. Portrait

09. Interlude

10. Concerto For Piano

11. Inside

12. The Eyes Of God

13. It Won’t Be Long