Let the Music Take Your Mind (Plantation  PLP-504)  1976


More loud intense soulful hard rockin’ on this tougher-to-find follow-up. A new male singer takes over most of the lead vocals, pouring it on with a fervency equal to his female predecessor. And while their debut was strictly standards, Let The Music Take Your Mind is comprised mostly of original material. The music is both heavier and more diverse, including some blues-rock moves on the gospelly ‘That’s What My Man Is For’ and the throbbing slow burner ‘Closer To The Man’. The flames rage outta control on the Southern-styled ‘Dead’ featuring slamming triple guitar action. ‘Get High On Jesus’ was also covered on the mega-rare Earthen Vessel monster. Wild colorful psychedelic praying-hands-cross-Afro-head cover.      (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01 – Let The Music Take Your Mind
02 – Elijah Stone
03 – Prayer For Peace
04 – Make Up Your Mind
05 – Listen To Me
06 – Dead
07 – Get High On Jesus
08 – Silverfield Lady
09 – Don’t Do Me Nothing
10 – Closer To The Man
11 – That’s What My Man Is For
12 – Let The Music Take Your Mind-Out