A Call to Brokeness (Shekinah  SHM -3019)  1980


The group’s fusion of progressive and hard rock became fully realized with the stunning A Call To Brokeness. You’ll be tempted to blow out your speakers on this one – the production is A-1, the gals’ vocals are especially dynamic, and the stinging loud guitar leads are all over the place. I find this an exceptional album, similar in some respects to the best of the early Tunesmith recordings, yet at the same time blowing them all away. Synthesizer and flute play a bigger role here, the latter sounding rather Tull-ish at one point. The eschatological emphasis continues on long tracks like ‘Ezekiel 38 & 39’ (5:28), ‘Armageddon’ (7:42) and a powerful climactic remake of Last Call’s ‘Marriage Supper Of The Lamb’ (8:24). Closes on a softer note with ‘Raging Sea’ and the dreamy title track (which also closes out the Last Call album). We’re talkin’ three essential classic slabs of vintage vinyl Jesus music here.    (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).

This one was on Heavenly Grooves blog.


01. Hallelujah

02. Resurrection

03. Woman At The Well

04. Marriage Supper Of The Lamb

05. Ezekiel 38 & 39

06. Armegeddon

07. Raging Sea

08. A Call To Brokeness