There Is No Escape (Rhema RH-011) 1978 Australia *


Excellent diverse album from Australian guy who had previously been in a popular hippie jug band called The 69ers.  Most of the songs on There Is No Escape follow a melodic rock style.  Songs such as ‘You Can Know For Sure’ and the title track (about the return of Christ) have progressive and jazz-rock edges, including Yes-like synthesizer arrangements.  ‘Hungry Man’ and the boogie rocker ‘Jesus Said’ both give an opportunity for Francis to get down with his harmonica, while ‘With Jesus’ provides a reflective acoustic ballad mood.  Some of that old jug-band background carries over into ‘My Melody’, ‘I’m Really Diggin’ His Music’ and ‘You’d Like Me To Be Like Everyone Else’, all of which feature Francis tooting away on lead kazoo.  The latter song makes use of that Rudy Vallee “megaphone” vocal style, as does the brief vaudeville-esque ‘Some Little Bug’.  Opens and closes with short arty instrumentals called ‘Alpha’ and ‘Omega’ featuring electric guitar and spacey electronics.  Francis also plays acoustic and 12-string guitars, while other musicians supply additional guitars, bass, keyboards, moog and drums (credits list Randall Waller as one of the lead electric guitarists).  On the same Australian Christian label as Randy Matthews’ Live In Australia.     (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Alpha

02. Hungry Man

03. You Can Know For Sure

04. Some Little Bug

05. Just Want To Live For You

06. My Melody

07. There Is No Escape (Coming Of The Son Of Man)

08. I’m Really Diggin’ His Music

09. Jesus Said

10. Watch Your Tongue

11. You’d Like Me To Be Like Everyone Else

12. With Jesus

13. His Strength Will Win Victories

14. Omega