Combo Studio ’72 (MLP 7821) 1978 Holland *


Combo Studio ’72 is a group of roughly 25 young folks that were members of the Reformed Church of Permerend near Amsterdam.  This album contains five of their songs, all sung in Dutch, all in a very youth-sounding electric garage/choral format.  Not terribly exciting, but of greater interest are the remaining tracks which I’m assuming are all from smaller subsets of the larger group.  Irene Appelo provides two dynamic plugged-in tracks (both in Hebrew I believe), while Arpad Mazurel does a blues/folk number and a ballad, both sung in English with electric guitar accompanying.  The band Life Shift gets the top honors here with three garage-band rockers: ‘Intro’ (an instrumental), ‘Human Wreck’ and ‘Stupid Rats’, all in English, though I have to admit I’m not quite sure what they’re singing about.     (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Liefde Is Niet Maar Een Woord

02. Eens Komt De Tijd

03. Elkander Te Aanvaarden

04. Harachaman Hu Yislach Lanu

05. A Frequent Loser

06. Intro

07. Angsten

08. Dromen

09. Shiru Lashem

10. Chance (Mondharmonika Solo)

11. Human Wreck

12. Stupid Rats