Something Money Can’t Buy (Sword SWR-7003-LP) 1977


Melodic fella from the rural school delivers a likable sampling of acoustic ballads, casual jazz-tinged pop/light-rock and sturdy country rock on this small North Carolina label, home also to Rob Cassels’ debut and The Bridge’s farewell. McGee wrote eight of the nine songs and contributes some satisfying lead guitar, gettin’ down on titles like the rocker ‘Judge Not’. Piano, Fender Rhodes and organ also worked in nicely. Other selections include ‘There’s A Storm Coming’, ‘Bible For A Roadmap’, ‘He Found Jesus’ and ‘When Will You Take Me Home’. Would have fit snugly alongside the Maranatha crew.     (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).


This one was on the Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Something Money Can’t Buy

02. He’s Always There

03. What The World Needs

04. There’s A Storm Coming

05. Bible For A Roadmap

06. He Found Jesus

07. Judge Not

08. He’s My Jesus

09. When Will You Take Me Home