Under New Management (Trust 1)  1975 UK *



Moving to their own private label certainly didn’t hurt the Flyers any. The rustic influences of the debut were set aside here in favor of a leaner more electric sound. Lead singer David Rees’ songwriting is in top form with creative titles like ‘Heaven Or Blue Suede Shoes’, ‘Demon Dark Fantasy (Star, Star)’, ‘All Stops For Hollywood’, ‘The Fire Next Time’ and ‘Take A Tip (From The Low Flying Angels)’. Female backup singer joins in on the latter as well as ‘The Darkest Night’. ‘Just Another Song For Marilyn’ draws its theme from the troubled life of Marilyn Monroe. Several of the songs work up a steady mid-tempo CCR/’Lodi’ kind of rhythm with lots of catchy electric guitar work and Rees pouring much conviction into the vocals. ‘Number One’ closes out the album on a heartfelt acoustic note. Someone once called these guys the Daniel Amos of England.    (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).



One in memory of Heavenly Grooves blog.



01. Heaven Or Blue Suede Shoes

02. Demon Dark Fantasy

03. All Stops For Hollywood

04. Just Another Song For Marilyn

05. The Saddest Song You’ll Ever Hear

06. Take A Tip (From the Low Flying Angels)

07. Wheels

08. The Lord Is In This Place

09. The Fire Next Time

10. The Darkest Night

11. Number One