Low Flying Angels (Myrrh  MYR 1016)  1974  UK *


Another Myrrh UK authentic rock recording that inexplicably didn’t get co-released in the States. As with The Sheep and Liberation Suite, I think at least some of the members were actually from the US. That would explain the strong American rural South sentiments expressed in their music. Much like The Band in that respect, employing a variety of instruments such as violin, dobro, accordion, slide guitar, banjo and piano along with the regular rock line-up. Includes excellent covers of Ry Cooder’s ‘How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times And Live’, ‘Dark End Of The Street’, ‘Denomination Blues’, and Joe Grier’s (of The Joyful Noise) ‘Toward The Light’, along with several originals. Powerful electric guitar and classic rock vibes on the standout track ‘We Will Not Find You There’. One of the best examples of this rarely explored style.      (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).

One in remembrance of Heavenly Grooves blog.


01. The Dancer’s Daughter

02. How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times And Live

03. The Preacher’s Song

04. Toward The Light

05. Blood For Blood

06. Fire To Behold

07. Dark End Of The Street

08. Leave It There

09. We Will Not Find You There

10. Denomination Blues