My Lord, What A Morning  (World Wide  WWR 766-238)  1968?

Come, Follow Me  (Chapel  LP 5122)  1969?

When The Spirit Says Sing  (Custom  CR 5213)  1970?
If The Truth Were Known  (Creative Sound  CSS 1508)  1971?
Revival  (Creative Sound  CSS1529)  1972?
Country Church  (Bridge  S2223)  1972?
Dove  (Bridge  S2245)  1973
Live  (Bridge S2251)  1973




With two acoustic guitars, upright bass, sometimes banjo, ultra-conservative coat-and-tie looks, flawless soothing harmonies and a repertoire of old-time standards, the three men of The Wedgwood perfected traditional ‘60s adult folk ala The Weavers, The Kingston Trio, The Brothers Four, etc. Dan Vollmer, Jerry Hoyle and Bob Summerour met while attending college overseas in England and derived their name from an 18th century potter Josiah Wedgwood. Their debut My Lord What A Morning finds the trio putting their own personality stamp on folk interpretations of spirituals and hymns like ‘Amazing Grace’, ‘We Are Climbing Jacob’s Ladder’, ‘Oh, Sinner Man’, ‘Just A Closer Walk With Thee’, ‘Go Tell It On The Mountain’ and a few more obscure songs. Come, Follow Me and When The Spirit Says Sing follow a similar format. If The Truth Were Known is a bit more contemporary and includes several of their own songs – ‘Requiem For A Little Boy’ made it onto several Creative Sound samplers with its catchy wholesome harmonica melody. Other songs include ‘Pack Up Your Sorrows’, ‘Foggy Mountain Breakdown’, ‘Summertime’ and ‘Green Grow The Laurel’. Revival is somewhat more traditional, slowing down the pace for gentle reflective covers of hymns and gospel songs such as ‘A Mighty Fortress’, ‘Nobody Knows’, ‘In The Garden’, ‘No Dark Valley’ and ‘Prayer Is The Key’. Country Church is first-rate country folk, housed in a thick brown textured cover with shiny gold lettering/artwork. Dove starts to creep a little into MOR territory. Live is a fine accomplishment featuring the band in a concert setting along with a small string ensemble (though admittedly it feels more studio than live). Wholesome sounds for those mellow moods.     (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).

A nice article of the history and background of The Wedgwood Trio can be found here.


01. Come, Follow Me

02. Just As I Am

03. Just A Closer Walk With Thee

04. There Is A Happy Land

05. The Virgin Mary Had A Baby Boy

06. The Joy Song

07. Fall Of Satan’s Kingdom

08. How Sweet Are The Tidings

09. Climbing Jacob’s Ladder

10. Must Jesus Bear The Cross Alone

11. What Wondrous Love

12. I Wonder As I Wander