Genesis: A Rock Mass (Rondo Records 1117) 1974?



Take a number of spiritual hits from the late ’60s/early ’70s, give them to a 9-member group of young men and women, add a priest’s liturgical recitations overtop, and voila, you’ve got Genesis: A Rock Mass.  This Louisville Kentucky invention features titles like ‘My Sweet Lord’, ‘Let It Be’, ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’, selections from Godspell and Jesus Christ Superstar, presenting them all completely within a soulful basement rock format that includes organ, trumpet and sax along with the electric guitar, bass and drums.  The music dims a notch whenever Father Gene Tyson steps in to read (and read… and read…)in his strong Boston accent – or is it New York?  Whatever – this thing is definitely unusual.   (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).


Celebration - Genesis (Bck)




01. I’d Love To Be As Heavy As Jesus

02. Simon Zealot

03. Medley

04. God Is Love

05. Bridge Over Troubled Water

06. Sinner Man

07. Let It Be

08. I Don’t Know How To Love Him

09. Heed The Call

10. I Believe In Music

11. My Sweet Lord

12. Superstar