The New Wine Sound (New Wine NWS 101) 1970


A 17 song set from Jim Strathdee and The Celebration Singers, a California Methodist folk ensemble.  Mix of original and standards of the late ’60s folk worship songbook variety.  Several lead singers including Strathdee, Ron Nibble, Jodie Howarth, Barbara Cruz, Bill Cruz, Laurie Strathdee and Dave Farley.  The only drawback large number of singers on the choruses and the cavernous church auditorium sound.  Backed by acoustic guitars, bass, tambourine, congas and flute. OK but the follow-up is far better.



01        I Am The Light Of The World
02        The Spirit Of The Lord
03        Create In Me A Clean Heart
04        I’ll Never Smile Again, O God
05        Praise God From Whom All Blessings Flow
06        Holy, Holy, Holy
07        Children Go Where I Send You
08        Oh Brothers Come
09        Where Is The Lord Of Creation
10        Rise Up Children
11        Woke Up This Morning With My Mind Stayed On Freedom
12        Joy Shall Come
13        Oh, What A Beautiful City
14        Then I Asked Him
15        There’ll Be Sunshine In The Morning
16        Come And Help Me Build A Land
17        We’re On Our Way
18        Sing Alleluia