Ph’lip Side (Sparrow SPR-1036) 1980


Ph’ lip Side provides us with two different musical portraits of Phil. One side focuses on quieter moods: McCartney-esque pop of ‘A Child (In Everyone’s Heart)’, reflective ballads like ‘I Belong To You’, the mesmerising soft rock reverie of ‘Spend My Life With You’.  The other side unloads the heavier more rock-oriented material like ‘A Royal Commandment’ and the bluesy ‘Sunday School’  — not Phil’s best but hardly shabby either.  ‘Just A Moment Away’ was co-written by King’s X member Doug Pinnick.  Jamie Owens-Collins, Greg Volz and Matthew Ward on background vocals.  The original press contains the rocker ‘Send Out Your Light’, later substituted with acoustic ballad ‘In Your Keep’.   (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).




1 A Child (In Everyone’s Heart) 4:01
2 Little Ones 4:58
3 Spend My Life with You 5:17
4 Just A Moment Away 4:02
5 I Belong to You 3:27
6 A Royal Commandment 5:49
7 Sunday School 4:33
8 Send Out Your Light 3:31
9 Pulling Down


Can be found here.