Upon This Rock (Capitol ST-446) 1969


Often heralded as the Sgt. Pepper of Christian rock from the father of Christian rock, Upon This Rock may not have been the first Jesus rock album, but few would deny it being the most important. Sure there were earlier artist, but Larry Norman is generally the first name that comes to mind for truly embodying the whole rock persona. This guy looked like a rocker and by golly he sang like one too. Fresh from the group People and their #14 hit ‘I Love You’, Larry began his career by setting forth his Christian vision in no uncertain terms. Here on a mainstream label no less was something more than just a hey-let’s-make-a-God-record mentality typical of the times. Titles like ‘Sweet Sweet Song Of Salvation’ and ‘I Wish We’d All Been Ready’ would become staple songs of the Jesus movement, covered by literally scores of future artist. Not merely “message music”, however, Norman exuded a creativity that ran from wry offbeat humor (‘Moses In The Wilderness’ and ‘Nothing Really Changes’) to twisted Dylon-esque dream imagery (‘The Last Supper’). While not a perfect album (over-production typical of commercially-minded big labels is sometimes cited), Upon This Rock remains a landmark recording that basically paved the way for everything else. Look for the original Capitol issue as it contains an opening instrumental track ‘Prelude’ that is typically deleted on later pressings by other labels. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).




01. You Can’t Take Away The Lord

02. I Don’t Believe In Miracles

03. Moses In The Wilderness

04. Walking Backwards Down The Stairs

05. Ha Ha World

06. Sweet Sweet Song Of Salvation

07. Forget Your Hexagram

08. The Last Supper

09. I Wish We’d All Been Ready

10. Nothing Really Changes

11. Postlude



12. You Can’t Take Away The Lord (Demo)

13. Sweet Song Of Salvation (Live)

14. Nothing Really Changes (Demo)


Can be found here.