Please Forgive Us Lord (Ark 61926)  1978


Amongst the glut of folk, pop, rock, and everything else that the church cranked out in the ’70s, Jeff Johnson was one of the few loners that ventured off into unexplored territory.  Please Forgive Us Lord often crosses expressions that foreshadow “new Age” music.  At last, a true artist not conforming to the Christian wave, as evidenced not only in the lyrics and musical approach, but also in the deluxe packaging which includes Escher-esque pen and ink drawings on the gatefold cover, a 16-page lyric/photo booklet, and a bonus 7″ single entitled ‘Songs For Loved Ones’.  This set reveals a fuller sound than Anvil, with synthesizers and spacey sounds beginning to play a bigger role, as on the instrumental ‘Fugata’ and the mysterious haunting title track.  Often laced with classical influences, not only from the strong piano presence, but also from the periodic string orchestration.  Some nice folky Eastern vibes surrounding ‘Come, Let Us Walk’.  ‘Secret Agent Christian Spy’ is an interesting piece that includes a suave Perry Mason horn section, the topic being stealth-minded Christians who leave their “witness” (i.e. tracts) on car windshields.  Better things were yet to come, yet this remains Johnson’s rarest and most sought after lp – understandably so. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).

I have added a replacement for this album on further investigation I discovered that the whole album wasn’t included in the original post. I have modified the post to reflect the song titles as they should be. and changed the link to the new files. The first three songs are in a melody format, as is the 5th song.   Sorry for the confusion.   diakoneo




01. We Wish You A Merry Christmas – Coventry Carol – Away From The Manger

02. Everyday

03. Everyday Tag

04. Jerusalem City Of Gold

05. We’re Gonna Live Forever – Intermission Song

06. Secret Agent Christian Spy

07. Come Let Us Walk

08. Fugata And Please Forgive Us Lord

09. Teach Me Thy Way O Lord

10. Afterthought