Come Home My Son (Mt. Angel Abbey NWI 2791) 1973?



From that pure and simple ’60s breed of folksinger comes Mt. Angel Abbey student Mark Jorg.  He performs ten original songs, usually with just acoustic guitar for backing (a couple songs have assistance from others on flute, second acoustic guitar and female vocal harmony’s.  Poetic flowing lyrics, stark atmosphere, competent guitar work, and a convincing tenor voice made for the style add up to a refreshing listening experience.  Songs shift around from quiet sensitive moods to bleak minor-key expressions to graceful finger-picked passages to vibrant strummed buildings.  Serious tone save for some satirical jabs in ‘Ecology’ (“the war against pollution is going very well, the young protest the old and the old say go to hell”).  ‘Master’s Walk’, ‘This Lonely Man’, ‘Man And Wife’, ‘What Have You Done’ and ‘Blind Man’ are some of the other titles.  Custom lp from St. Benedict, Oregon. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).




01. Master’s Walk

02. Ecology

03. Child

04. This Lonely Man

05. Come Home My Son

06. Listen

07. Man And Wife

08. What Have You Done

09. Blind Man

10. Lonely Road