Walk Humbly With Your God (Sound Patterns SPMM) 1974


SISTER IRENE O’CONNOR – Fire Of God’s Love/Songs To Ignite The SpiritSISTER IRENE O’CONNOR – Fire Of God’s Love/Songs To Ignite The Spirit


Lovely homemade lp of quiet somber folk meditations of the Catholic variety from unnamed Michigan ensemble. Titles like ‘A Little Child Will Lead You’, ‘I Have Loved You’, ‘Evening Psalm’, ‘I Thank My God For You’ and ‘Behold The Handmaid’ have a gentle moody melodic presence, stirring male/female harmonies warmly backed by soft-jangling acoustic guitar, plus flute, recorder, dulcimer, metalaphone, finger cymbals, tambourine, etc. Primitive production gives the recording kind of a distant hazy quality. Sounds a little like Medical Mission Sisters when it’s just the girls. Composed and arranged by Mary McGann and Margo Morris. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).




01. Walk Humbly With Your God
02. When Israel Was A Child
03. A Little Child Will Lead Them
04. I Have Loved You
05. Evening Psalm
06. Your Hand Is Laid Upon Me Lord
07. I Thank My God For You
08. I Long To Know The Lord Jesus
09. I want to call Him by His name
10. Behold The Handmaid
11. Go Now And Tell My Brothers