Bethlehem (Maranatha 77-040) 1978



Palatable countrified rock that more or less defines Maranatha’s rural Jesus Music sound. Members include Danny Daniels (guitars, lead vocals) Dom Franco (steel guitar, dobro), Dan McCleery (drums), John Falcone (bass) and Randy Rigby (lead guitar, keyboards). Many of their songs are of the mellow Eagles variety, including ‘Think It Over’, ‘Lover’, ‘No Good Excuses’ and ‘Desert Song’, the latter carbon copied from ‘Peaceful Easy Feeling’. ‘Night Rider’ and ‘Pilgrims’ have good lead electric guitar adding some bite, as does ‘Dead Reckoning’ which has the honour of helping to reverse radio Bob Larson’s stance on Christian rock (according to Paul Baker’s book Contemporary Christian Music). Lots of Steel guitar throughout, joining forces with banjo on ‘This Road’. Some bluesy acoustic picking on ‘Holy Ghost Blues’. Produced by Al Perkins and Tom Stipe. Includes a large open-out lyric/photo insert. See also Maranatha 5.   (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).




Song #Song TitleTime
1-1Think It Over3:22
1-2He's A Lover4:06
1-3Desert Song3:41
1-4Holy Ghost Blues2:40
1-5Dead Reckoning3:48
1-6Bright And Shining Son3:58
2-1Night Rider3:03
2-2This Road3:51
2-3No Good Excuses4:02
2-4Just A Prayer Away4:03