Building On The Rock (Singcord ZLP 963) 1975


AKA Songs And Stories (Hymntone CS7228) 1972?

It was an immediate purchase when I first beheld this cover featuring a young wet-behind-the-ears Jim Bakker and an unrecognizable Tammy Faye posing with various puppets. I didn’t expect the album to be anything actually worth listening to, hence it sat on the shelf for almost a year before actually making it to the turntable. But when it did, man was I slain! Here on side one are ten songs belted out by Tammy in unbelievable grating high-pitched militaristic squawks that sound like a stuffy-nosed Shirley Temple on drugs. With sights apparently set on maximum irritation she renders titles like ‘We’re Going To A Mansion On The Happy Day Express’, ‘It’s Bubblin’, ‘We’re Marching, Marching’ and ‘The Devil’s After Me’ (“1, 2, 3 – the devil’s after me! 4, 5, 6 – he’s always throwing sticks! 7, 8, 9 – he misses every time! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Amen!”). Now I know this is a children’s record, but even my 8-year old son came up to me with a sour look and said “Daddy, this is annoying”. Jim gets into the act on side two where a pair of lengthy skits are performed that are positively insane. Multiple characters are involved, all voiced by the couple. Some are identified on the back cover: Muffin The Talking Dog, Susie, Allie The Alligator, and Zippy The Talking Mailbox. Organ, drums and cymbals brew up some fairly classic storm effects on ‘Jonah And The Whale’. The music backing Tammy’s side is actually kind of fun and catchy, performed by the Goss brothers and Vic Clay. There’s a secret message on the back (08-04-x19 x9-04-x23-x25-x5 018-04-x17) which you can translate using Susie Moppet’s secret decoder, available when you join Jim & Tammy’s Friendship Club. I love this record dearly and I will not let you have my copy. Find your own and drink deep the swill. Later released in a different cover with the title Building On The Rock. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).




01. The Wise Man Built His House Upon The Rock
02. We’re Going To A Mansion On The Happy Day Express
03. Jonah And The Whale
04. Let The Sunshine In
05. The Devil Is A Sly Ole Fox
06. It’s Bubblin
07. We’re Marching, Marching
08. Isn’t It Grand To Be A Christian
09. The Devil’s After Me
10. Only A Boy Name David
11. Jonah And The Whale (Story)
12.the house on the rock (story)