Roll Down The Ages (Franciscan Communications 9160) 1980



The male backup singers from Hurd’s prior albums were exchanged for the more delicate male/female foursome Anawim on this independent release. Still in a melodic ‘70s Catholic folk style featuring acoustic guitar and piano, the female element often drawing their sound toward that of Ellis & Lynch. Mellow strings effectively embrace a couple of the selections, while others make use of a small uplifting choir. Still plenty of opportunities to hear Hurd’s fragile stirring vocals. Some beautiful songs in here, including ‘Alleluia Lord’, ‘Praise The Lord Who Heals The Brokenhearted’, ‘I Am The Vine, You Are The Branches’, ‘Gift Of Love’ and the title track. Electric guitars are introduced on ‘Christ Has Died’ and ‘All My Life’. Fifteen songs in all, a few being of the short liturgical variety. They continued to release additional albums on into the ‘80s. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).




01. I am the light of the world
02. Lord have mercy
03. Alleluia Lord
04. Praise the Lord who heals the brokenhearted
05. Our Father
06. Alleluia
07. Roll down the ages
08. Holy Holy Holy
09. When we eat this bread
10. I am the vine you are the branches
11. Dying you destroyed our death
12. Gift of love
13. Christ has died
14. Lamb of God
15. All my life