In The Beginning (Leaven 9158) 1979



The independently released In The Beginning does a successful stylistic switch over to pastoral folk, country, and string/woodwind-backed meditative acoustic ballads, making for some of Griffen’s most beautiful moments. Steel guitar and harmonica set the rural mood on the opening ‘Don’t Give Up’, while ‘Amazing Carpenter’ skips along with a playful honky-tonk air. ‘Let Your Light Shine’ introduces some electric guitar for its lightly rocking style. Orchestration, when used, is tasteful and elegant, particularly on the ballads ‘Blessed Are You, Lord’ and ‘The Fisherman’. The gentle styles of Bob Ayala, Harry Chapin and John Denver are good reference points. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).



01. Don’t Give Up
02. Never Be the Same
03. Blessed Are You Lord
04. The Fisherman
05. In the Beginning
06. We Thank You for our Friends
07. Let Your Light Shine
08. Amazing Carpenter
09. He Calls Us Each By Name