Counting The Days Till Morning (Village Giant VG-1030-JB) 1970?


Jim’s premier album is a soulful entertaining mix of pop, ballads, jazz, rock, gospel and lounge. Mostly covers of standards like ‘Sounds Of Silence’, ‘Abraham, Martin & John’, ‘When This Battle Is Over Medley’, Ralph Carmichael’s ‘Quiet Place’, etc. Better than you’d think given that description and song selection as his versions are fairly unique, the best example being his jazzy rocking fuzz-guitar interpretation of ‘Do You Hear What I Hear’. Several musicians assisting, plus one instance of string orchestration. Back cover states that he’s done concerts with Three Dog Night and the Clara Ward Singers. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).




01 – Days Till Mourning
02 – Sounds Of Silence
03 – Do You Hear What I Hear
04 – Abraham Martin And John
05 – Hold On
06 – God Bless The Child
07 – Feelig Good
08 – Turn Around
09 – When This Battle Is Over Medley
10 – Quiet Place