New Horizons (Light Custom LCS-510) 1976



Jon Byron’s appealing soft rock sound should find good company alongside the works of John Fischer, Paul Clark and Phil McHugh. Released on a custom branch of Light records, New Horizons usually has an acoustic emphasis featuring Byron on guitar and Clark Gassman on piano. Several tracks have a country edge brought on by pedal steel guitar. A couple songs bring in sax for some jazzy moments, slow and loungy on ‘Simple’, bright and lively on the title cut. A few selections are laced with stirring classical string orchestration. Twelve songs total, all written by Byron. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).




01 – Sing To The Lord
02 – He’s The Way, The Truth, The Life
03 – Zacchaeus
04 – My Prayer
05 – Reality
06 – Falcon
07 – New Horizons
08 – Blind Man
09 – One Time A Long Time Ago
10 – Mighty Ocean
11 – Came So Softly, Gary’s Song
12 – Simple