Lead Me Home (no label SS-22315-01) 1971











Knew the minute I spotted that ultra-strange cover art that this one was gonna be a winner. Sure enough it’s a high-class subterranean breed of echoed spooky folk-rock, songs flowing effortlessly in a relaxed hypnotic electric groove with soft stratospheric male/female harmonies laid over-top. All original songs, some of the titles being ‘He Is Coming’, ‘Why Do I Feel Alone’, ‘Back Into My Mind’, ‘Loner’, ‘No Man Is A Mountain’, ‘Long Time In The Rain’ and ‘On The Outside Looking In’. Line-up is Dan Germain (guitar), Russ McIlwain (guitar, keyboard), Debbie McKee, Fred Stoppelkamp (bass) and Larry Chilelli (drums). As for that cover, I still can’t quite make out what it means – looks like an outstretched hand holding a set of keys, with the fingers branching out into additional hands, plus some kind of indecipherable writing in the background. A 200 press mega rarity. Pretty much cream-of-the-crop artsy stuff that the progressive folk fan can take seriously. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).












Thank you Laura for pointing out the error in track list.  I have corrected the list. for anyone with the old list it is for Hurricane Smith’s – Don’t Let It Die album. One other note, this album has one song timed at 3:16. Every album with a song that length reminds me of John 3:16 in the Bible. “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him, shall not die but will have eternal life.” There are a lot of album that have a song of that length. Anyone think that God is still spreading the Good news?



Song #Song TitleTime
1-1He Is Coming4:39
1-2Why Do I Feel Alone2:17
1-3Back Into My Mind2:27
1-5Lead Me Home3:06
2-1Take Time2:51
2-2No Man Is A Mountain3:16
2-3Long Time In The Rain3:06
2-4It Seems2:14
2-5On The Outside Looking In2:14
2-6Rap It Out2:24



You can PURCHASE here