I Send My Light (Pastoral Arts PAA AA12) 1978


Some of the most beautiful examples of the late-‘70s meditative Catholic folk style can be found on the Pastoral Arts Associates label. He Shall Be Peace (The 10:15), Tim Schoenbachler’s All Is Ready, and these two from Marty Haugen are all gorgeous collections that touch the heart with moving worshipful melodies. I Send My Light finds Marty as part of an eight-person outfit called Windspirit. They create a charming soft acoustic atmosphere via delicate m/f harmonies, 6 and 12-string guitar, piano, organ and various woodwinds (flute, oboe, bassoon). Comparable to Ellis & Lynch’s best moments, with some particularly beautiful female solo singing on ‘All Flesh Is Grass’. Other stirring selections include ‘Come, O Lord’, ‘Trust’, ‘Love Endures’, ‘God Is Our Refuge’ and the recorder-backed title track. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).




01. I Send My Light
02. Create In Me
03. Manna In The Desert
04. The Lord Is My Light
05. Come, O Lord
06. Trust
07. Hope In My Soul
08. Come Unto Me
09. All Flesh Is Grass
10. Love Endures
11. God Is Our Refuge
12. Sing Every Morning
13. For All My Days