Dayspring (Morningstar MS-00001) 1974


It should be obvious from listening to loud psychy rockin’ cuts like ‘Joy Comes In The Morning’ and ‘Eyes Of The Lord’ that this Ohioan had access to a Glass Harp album or two. Good job in the production yet holds to a totally homemade and primitive sound with jammin’ acoustic bluesy folkrocking maneuvers in the league of Randy Matthews, Ron Moore, and Mike Johnson, sometimes choosing to handle all instruments (guitar, bass, piano, percussion) himself like on the magical ‘I Was In The Spirit’. ‘Rock Of Ages’ boasts a crude electric blues riff with raw basement vibe and lengthy leads. Closes with a raucous, hand-clappin’, buncha-folks-havin’-a-party version of ‘Down By The Riverside’. Unreal cover art depicting mountainous landscape with orange sky and giant green sun. 1000 made. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).



01. Gospel Ship
02. Sad Times
03. Joy Comes In The Morning
04. I’m Happy
05. I Was In The Spirit
06. Rock Of Ages
07. Eyes Of The Lord
08. Down By The Riverside

You can get this remastered at this website.