City Of Refuge (Tunesmith TS 6001) 1979? Canada *



Tunesmith is indeed the proper label for City Of Refuge as the band cuts loose even further and with more consistency. Although they’re not about to challenge powerhouse label-mates like Barnabas, Amaziah and Stronghold, one would be hard pressed to call this a bad album. Those two easy-grooved soft cuts with female vocals might cause a die-hard rocker to look the other way, but aggressive songs like ‘It’s Your Friends’, ‘Don’t Pull That Trigger’, ‘Give It Up’ and the seven-minute title opus show the group in top form with progressive rock flourishes and exciting hard-rock guitar and synthesizer interaction. Comes in a very striking gate-fold cover. (The Archivist, 4th Edition by Ken Scott).


01 – It’s Your Friends
02 – Don’t Get Caught
03 – What Does It Take
04 – Don’t Pull That Trigger
05 – Just When
06 – Stepping Stones
07 – Give It Up
08 – Learn To Lean
09 – City Of Refuge